Fubo Hill

The Fubo Hill towers solitarily in the northeast of the city, with half of it in the Li River. On the eastern side of the hill are a winding corridor facing the river, a teahouse and a “Listening to the Waves Pavilion” built along the cliff of the hill. On the west side, a flight of stone steps leads to the Kuishui Pavilion, which is half way up the hill, then to the top.

At the foot of the hill are the “Pearl-Returning Cave” and “One Thousand Buddhas Cave.” In the “Pearl-Returning Cave,” there hangs from the ceiling a rock, which nearly touches the ground. Legend continues that once a general name Fu Bo tested his sword by cutting what was originally a stone pillar and has left a crevice at the bottom ever since. In the “One Thousand Buddhas Cave,” there are in fact more than 200 Buddha statues (idols, big and small), most of which were carved in the Tang and Song dynasties.

In addition, there still exist very many stone carvings, among which are a portrait and an autograph done by Mi Fu (1051-1107)—a distinguished painter and calligrapher of the Northern Song Dynasty. Because of the beautiful sights and its peculiar caves, the gill is acclaimed as “Fu Bo Resort.”

About Us Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy FAQs
 © Copyright Notice 2013 Travel China Planner Corporation and its licensors. All rights reserved.